The Smoke Free Illinois Act, enacted on
January 1, 2008, and amended on February 4, 2009, prohibits smoking in public places or places of employment.
This means places where
employees are required to enter, leave, or pass through during the course of
This includes but is not
limited to bars, banquet halls, bowling alleys, casinos, churches, dormitories,
offices, prisons, private clubs (including Elks, Moose, and VFW lodges),
restaurants, and sports arenas.
This law applies to all
municipalities and unincorporated areas in the State of Illinois.
Smoking is prohibited within 15 feet of any
entrance, exit, window, and ventilation intake.
No person may smoke in any vehicle owned,
leased, or operated by the State or a political subdivision of the State.
Ashtrays must be removed from all areas where
smoking is prohibited.
Exemptions where smoking is allowed include:
o The home must be smoke-free when used as a child care, adult day care,
health care facility, or any other home-based business open to the public.
Retail Tobacco Stores
o More than 80% of income comes from the sale of tobacco products and
smoking devices and does not have a liquor, food, or restaurant license.
o Shops that have opened or moved to a new location after January 1, 2008
must be located in a standalone building to allow smoking. Shops that have
opened after January 1, 2008 that are located in a strip mall must be
Private and semi-private
rooms in nursing homes and long-term care facilities.
Common smoking rooms in
long-term care facilities operated under the authority of the IL Dept. of
Not more than 25% of
hotel/motel rooms can be designated as rooms where smoking is allowed.
No smoking signs are required to
be posted at all entrances and exits of public places.
Contact the Will
County Health Department at (815) 727-8769 to receive signs, FREE of charge.
Any person, corporation, partnership, association, or other entity
violating the no smoking provisions of the Act may be fined by one of the
enforcement agencies. Each day that a
violation occurs is a separate violation.
person who smokes in a prohibited area shall be fined $100 for the first
offense and $250 for each subsequent offense.
person who owns, operates, or otherwise controls a public place or place of
employment that violates the Act shall be fined $250 for the first violation,
$500 for the second violation within one year after the first violation, and
$2,500 for each additional violation within one year after the first violation.
Report violations to:
(866) 973-4646 or online at www.smoke-free.illinois.gov
(800) 547-0466 (hearing impaired use only)
Smoke Free Illinois Code
The Smoke Free Illinois Code,
effective August 14, 2015, provides clarifications on definitions and complaint
and enforcement procedures in the Smoke Free Illinois Act. These supplemental
rules clarify the law and expand the procedures mentioned in the law.
Will County Health Department
Tobacco Control & Prevention Program Responsibilities
Provide education on
the Smoke Free Illinois Act to the community
Follow-up on all
smoking complaints and violations occurring in Will County
checks at violating businesses
with indoor smoking complaints and other tobacco related issues
assistance with developing a smoke-free or tobacco-free campus policy
For additional signage or
technical assistance, a Smoke Free Illinois Act Materials Request Form can be
found in the Documents to Download section below.
For more information: